The University of Oviedo is a public university located in Oviedo, Principality of Asturias (Spain), with campuses in Oviedo, Gijón and Mieres. It is the only university in the autonomous community, where there are no private universities. Its budget for the year 2017 is 200 million euros.It was one of the ten universities in Spain during the nineteenth century. At present it has 25 601 students.

The University of Oviedo is a founding member of Group 9 of Spanish Universities (G9), created in 1997 with the aim of promoting collaboration among the university institutions that make it up, both in terms of teaching and research activities and those of management and services.